“Project Runway” part one

image

Hello my fellow fashionistas! It’s been such a wonderful week…the sun has been shining and some of the snow is melting in certain places. It’s giving me hope that spring might actually come!

If you checked out my post Looking Ahead On freckledfashionista, you would have read that I am participating in a fashion program at a local library called “Project Runway” for tweens and teenagers, and I’ll be taking you through the course of me making my outfit, from shopping for the supplies to sewing and the runway show. Don’t worry, it’s not the real Project Runway.

We have to sew an outfit based on a book, and the book my outfit will be based on is The Candymakers by Wendy Mass. Check out the cool cover:

CandyMakers_pic

It was almost impossible for me to choose a book to base my design on, since there are so many amazing books in the world. In the end, I choose The Candymakers because I can make a super funky and bright outfit that I might not make otherwise. The outfit is going to be a pink tulle skirt (I got that idea from all the cotton candy in the book) with sequins on the bottom, and a tank top with a cool pattern and lots of embellishments.

Today I went to Joann’s to get all my materials, but I forgot to bring my camera to photograph my process. Joann’s is heaven to me. The materials draw me in, and all the colors make me feel right at home. I want to start on the skirt before I even think of the tank top, so I bought the tulle, elastic, and sequins that I would need. It’s going to be a no-sew skirt using a super easy tutorial online that I found. I’m going to cut the tulle long, so it will go past my knee, as I don’t want it to look like a tutu. From the description, I’ll admit, it does sound like a tutu, but I’m hoping the length and sequins will change that. Also, the skirt is something I’ll wear often in the summer, and last year the outfit I made for Project Runway was a long white dress–something I couldn’t really wear every day.

image

Going into Joann’s, I knew I wanted tulle spools, instead of buying tulle by the yard, because I thought it would be cheaper and easier to cut, but tulle was 4.99 per spool. Online, the spool I wanted to get was only 1.49, and the day I checked, it wasn’t on sale. I planned to buy 7 spools so my tulle skirt wouldn’t be see-through, but that would have been roughly 35 dollars. Not something I wanted to spend on tulle, especially since I could go online and buy a tulle skirt for only 10 bucks.

imageimage

I got two different shades of pink tulle, because the lighter pink was practically see through, but was the color I wanted, so the darker pink add a nice blend.The dark pink turned out almost red in the picture.

So, even though it wasn’t what I was planning on buying, I walked out of the store with lovely tulle cut by the yard (it was beautiful and a much better deal, at 99 cents per yard) and white sequins with pretty flecks of pink in them. The next meeting for Project Runway is next Wednesday, so (hopefully!) I’ll remember to bring my camera and take pictures of me assembling the skirt. I think it’s going to be really beautiful, even if I don’t have the tulle spools. Which do you think would have been better? Expensive tulle spools that are easier to cut or tulle cut by the yard at a much better deal? Comment below and let me know!

image

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

