How To Draw A Figure Sketch/Fashion Design

Hello Fashionistas! Happy Saturday!

I haven’t posted in a while….the truth is, I haven’t had much to talk about! For some reason, I don’t like sewing or designing during the summer, since it’s so hot and there’s so much to do outside that I don’t want to be cooped up indoors.

So, I was scrolling through the comments for my New Design post, and I got an idea from Sewloveable’s comment:

image

I’m sorry, Sewloveable, but how can I resist? In today’s post I’m going to show all of you how to draw a figure sketch!

image

Step One:

This is super easy. Just start by drawing a normal circle for the head and draw a line under it for the neck. In fashion design, you basically make the skeleton of the body before everything else.

image

Step Two: 

Draw a medium-length line under the neck for the shoulders. Then at each end of the shoulder line, draw the arms, which are just two lines. This is basically lines the whole time! Lastly, draw the torso, which is a line connected to the neck. Don’t worry yourself with a ruler, it’s okay if the lines are not perfect and there’s always room to improve later.

image

Step Three: 

A line under the torso should do for the hips/waist. It needs to line up with the shoulders. I’m designing a dress for this, so I’m not going to do the legs. Email me if you want me to do legs in a different tutorial.

image

Step Four:

Time for the curves. These are pretty easy to draw if you know what you are doing. Pretened the curves are smiles, so when you turn the paper sideways it looks like a smile. Make the curves come up to the armpit area. Bear with me, we’re almost done!

image

Step Five:

Arms! Probably one of the easiest steps, they’re like sticks. You’re just going to add an extra line to the other skeleton arm shape you have so far. For the hands, I normally just draw little diamonds. I added my skirt here too, which is long and flowing. You can choose whatever you want.

image

Step Six:

Whoa, I skipped ahead! Technically, you’re already done! You just have to draw your shirt, some hair, and erase your pencil lines (And color it in if you want, but I didn’t do that for this sketch). Now that you have your basic body shape down, the rest is up to you! You can draw sequins, pleats, long sleeves, high sleeves…play around with it! I almost never draw a face, since I don’t want it to be drawing away from the outfit. Also, I’m bad with faces.

image

And this is my sketch! I hope this was easy enough for you to follow. Thanks for reading, and have a good weekend!

love abigail

P.S. I’m still collecting sewing and fashion stories and I now have a offical page where you can tell me your sewing and fashion stories. I want your stories and I cannot wait to put them on the blog! Thanks to those that have sent me their stories!

4 thoughts on “How To Draw A Figure Sketch/Fashion Design

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

