Post Swap! With the Scatter Brained Seamstress

Hello, everyone! Today Kate and I swapped posts. She has a post for all of you, and you can find my post over at her blog here. Without further ado, let me give the spotlight to Kate! 

Hello, fashionistas! I’m so excited to be here at Abi’s blog, Freckled Fashionista!!! If you don’t know me, I’m Kate from Scatterbrained Seamstress!

I got my first sewing machine almost two years ago to date (minus a month or two), and have been sewing since about a year ago. I love everything about sewing in general and hope to grow my talent as I grow older!

My life has been a bit hectic recently with school, finals, and my baby sister who fractured her arm and had to have surgery. Thankfully I’ve still had time for some sewing!

I sewed Robert Kaufman’s Trail Tote. unnamed.jpgThe second I saw the picture I knew fabricworm’s vast amount of adorable fabrics would fit this bag perfectly! So right when the fabric arrived I sewed it up as fast as I could!

90% of this bag went super duper smoothly. The darts, cutting it out, the strap. Everything until the last few steps. There was supposed to be piping, but I accidentally sewed it to the wrong side of the fabric so it ended up on the inside of the bag. Sewing it all up was hard too, and so was hemming the top.

unnamed-1

My favorite aspect definitely has to be the extendable strap and the front pocket. It fits my Eos, a pack of tissues, my phone, and a pack of gum perfectly.

unnamed-2
It also features a magnetic snap and an inside pocket. Isn’t this lining fabric adorable?!

unnamed-3
I also sewed a coordinating bi-fold wallet. This tutorial was perfect, clear, and super easy! I love how the wallet turned out.

unnamed-4.jpg
It features a magnetic snap, six card holder spots, and coin and dollar bill storage. The lining (the lovely grey fabric) was not supposed to show, but I rather love the strip of contrast along the top.

unnamed-5
It fits perfectly in the inside pocket and looks quite snazzy, if I do say so myself :D.

Now for some action shots:

unnamed-6.jpg
….petting some purple flowers….

unnamed-7.jpg
….hugging a tree…..

unnamed-8.jpg
….and holding the bag awkwardly.

I’ve definitely enjoyed my time here!

Links

Exterior Fabric

Interior Fabric

Strap Fabric

Pocket Fabric

Bag Pattern

Thanks for reading!

unnamed

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

