Take the Pledge

IMG_9243

Hi! Today’s post is long and complicated. Please bear with me and read the whole thing!

To kick off the addition of healthy living and natural beauty, I’m doing something that I have wanted to do for a very long time. I try to live a very healthy lifestyle. I do yoga every day and constantly eat fruits and veggies, and nourish my body with filtered water. I go on hikes and walks and participate in track. I stay clear from dyes, syrup, etc.

I am trying to really eliminate all the bad–not just in my food, but also in the products I use–I try not to use sulfates in my hair, and I’ve been checking the labels of my facial products. If it has chemicals, it doesn’t fit the bill.

So here’s the point I’ve been getting to:

For a whole month, I’m going to monitor every single product and food item that I eat. And I’m inviting YOU to join me! And hey, maybe if this month is a great one, you can keep living like this. 🙂 If you already do live like this, join me for the fun of it!

Take the pledge.jpg

Over this month, I am going to post different products that I use, keep posting updates, etc. I’ll have tons of freebies, yoga workouts, recipes for healthy eating….it’s going to be awesome! I will go day by day sharing some of the things that I have eaten and I’ll have some quotes and inspiration photos. You can follow along with me in the comments or share with me some of the things you’ve eaten over the week. take the pledge why.jpg

Wonderful question.

  • Eating healthier gives you more energy throughout the day.
  • Eventually you can stop your sugar cravings (yay!).
  • Your headaches or toothaches from unhealthy foods and drinks will cease to exist.
  • You’ll be more aware and proud of what you eat!
  • You’ll look flushed and healthy–your skin will brighten, and you may lose a pound or two. Trust me, your body will thank you.
  • All in all, you will just feel better and more active, and you’ll find you don’t have to reach for those advils anymore.

And let’s be honest, healthy meals look pretty impressive on Instagram. 🙂

Here are the rules for this.

  • No protein bars (unless homemade). These are actually bad for you!
  • It’s pretty obvious, but no fast foods.
  • Nothing microwavable.
  • No boxed lunches.
  • No Gatorade!
  • Nothing with dies, high fructose corn syrup, etc.
  • Try not to eat too many sugars!
  •  No candy! (Sigh.)
  • No gum.
  • No soda.

Oh, while I’m at writing these big paragraphs, I have another thing to add. Don’t worry about calories. I know some people that judge what they eat by how many calories the food has. Just by looking at the ingredient list, or in general knowing what the food is, you can probably guess whether it is healthy or unhealthy. You need calories, no matter what people tell you, and there are good calories and bad calories.

Like I said, this pledge is not just about food. Go to your bathroom, I’ll wait, and check the ingredient list of your shampoo, look at your makeup, and trash whatever has bad ingredients. Do the same with your home products.

What to look out for?

  • Sodium Laureth Sulfate
  • Sulfates in general
  • Carbon Black
  • Carcinogens
  • Triclosan
  •  Ammonia
  • Sodium Hydroxide
  • Parabens
  • “Fragerence”

Found some of these? Pitch it. This post is getting long enough, so I won’t go into detail of why these are bad. However, some of these are toxic chemicals, and others are just ingredients that were made in a lab…you don’t want these on your body or your home surfaces.

Another thing to add–If you are a coffee drinker and MUST have your coffee (Some people get headaches when they don’t have caffeine in the morning) I’m not going to make you quit drinking coffee. Remember, everything in moderation.

So there you have it! Thirty days of healing. Take a walk! Breath in the fresh air! Eat healthy and put away that phone for goodness sake! Enjoy life. Become a better you.  Each week I will post an update with the foods I’ve eaten and some more tips, sources, and products for a healthier life. And I’ll do at least two or three yoga workouts for beginners.  Who’s with me? Let me know in the comments, please!

And of course if you have ANY questions do not hesitate to ask! In fact, please do! If you have questions about healthy living, yoga,  or this whole pledge thing feel free to drop me a comment or contact me via email!

Thank you so much for reading! And be sure to really consider this–I would love to have you join me in this journey for a healthy, better life. If you already strive to eat healthy, cheers! Good for you! Join me anyways! I’m looking forward to this! We will start officially May 1st.  Have a wonderful day.

sample-image

10 thoughts on “Take the Pledge

  1. Love your post Abi! And I always try to go by: ‘If you can’t eat it, don’t put it on your face’. Which sounds weird, but really helps. I’m looking forward to all your recommendations and posts for the next month. ❤

    Like

  2. I have a Luna Women’s Nutrition bar for breakfast every weekday, right here at my desk (Not a forbidden protein bar). For lunch I have the homemade whole wheat/multigrain bread I make every week and make sandwiches with a variety of natural cheeses. Since the bread is full of nuts and dried fruit with local sorghum molasses as a sweetener/yeast food, it’s a filling meal. All day I walk fast from place to place and get quick exercise in several times a day. No donuts, no Cheetos, none of the ubiquitous candy that adorns so many desks here. I mention all of this to show someone working full time in manufacturing and having a home-based business when I finally get home and having an elderly mother to care for still leaves me opportunity to eat pretty good and stay fit. I’m not ready to assault my shampoo yet. Good luck with your efforts! Down with super-sized sugar drinks! Up with local and home grown, home made! BTW, I do drink coffee, black only.

    Like

    1. Wow, you have a very healthy lifestyle! As for the nutrition bar, that’s great–I probably should have been more clear. Some bars claim that they are healthy but they really aren’t. Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  3. I love this Abi, my family and I currently use only natural products and eat organic foods….and we are currently in transitioning to a plant based diet. Doing so I see the immediate changes in our lives. Such wonderful benefits. I wish you all the best and look forward to seeing your progress!

    Like

  4. We live like this already – good luck with your efforts to do the same! Everything in our house is made from scratch, right down to the butter on our bread, just so that I know what is going in to our bodies.

    Like

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

