How To Keep A Gratitude Journal

Hello! It’s day three of the pledge! Be sure to check out the first post if you missed it. If you’re taking the pledge with me, how is it going so far? I got a request for a post on making healthy food. This is going to be a long, helpful post, so stay tuned! I’m going to be sharing some of the easiest and inexpensive meals and some resources. It should be coming out within a few weeks.

As for today’s post, this is a post I have been wanting to do too. This pledge is not just about what you feed the brain–it’s about what you feed your mind. I have found that keeping a gratitude journal really helps erase some of negative thoughts in my head.

IMG_9262

A gratitude journal is a place where you keep track of the things that make you happy and positive. It helps you to reflect on the good things that are happening in your life at that time.

Some people simply don’t have time to keep a journal, and I totally understand that! I’m always on a crunch for time too. Hopefully today’s tips will help you stick to writing in your journal every day.

Start by picking a time that works for you.

Some people enjoy mornings, others enjoy the evening. I personally like the morning, because it helps me start my day with some positivity.

Find out how you want to organize your journal.

There are two ways that you can organize your journal.

Way One: Write the things that you are thankful for in a list. It looks something like this:

  • I’m thankful for my blog
  • I’m thankful for my followers
  • I’m thankful for my family
  • I’m thankful for Charlie

And so on. If you don’t have a lot of time to write in your journal, I would recommend this for you. If you only have time to write a couple of things a day, that’s fine!  

Way Two: Write the things that you are thankful for in short paragraphs. This is more descriptive and tends to be like a diary, but make sure your paragraphs aren’t too long. It looks like something this:

  • I’m thankful for the rain. For the last week, it’s been very hot and the garden just needs some fresh rain. This morning, I had time to read and eat breakfast while watching the rain fall down.

Also, don’t be worried if your journal becomes a little random. The first couple pages of your journal will probably have important things, like “family” “heat” “a nice home” “food”, etc. But if the other pages stray to “Dogs” and “My arm”, Don’t worry! If you can’t think of what to write, just don’t write anything. Try to focus on things that you are thankful for that are happening in your life at the time. 

If you cannot think of anything else to write, start some new sections in your journal, like “Things That Make Me Happy”…whatever you want to add that helps you channel positivity will help. 

IMG_9263

Please excuse my horrible handwriting. 🙂The last step is applying this to your life. If you are having a bad day, read through the journal. Look at everything you’ve written. Remember the memories that you captured in a single word. Think of the kind words people have said to you, the smiles you’ve received. Your spirits will rise instantly.

And look at photos! Keep photos near you to help stay positive during the day.

IMG_9261.JPG

I have a cork board where I have a couple of my favorite photos hanging there. This is a photo of me in Boston, where I was born. 

I hope that this post has given you some inspiration! If you have any questions, drop me a comment or contact me via email.  If you still aren’t sure what to do for your gratitude journal, or if you have any questions whatsoever on the pledge, I’m here to help.

Have a beautiful, happy, and positive day. I’ll see you in the next post!

 

sample-image

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “How To Keep A Gratitude Journal

  1. Good post! This does make me want to write in my gratitude journal again…but this time in paragraphs instead of lists. I think that would make it more meaningful for me and make me more positive.

    Another way I’ve found to stay positive is that I have a google doc that, whenever someone says something positive to me or about my writing, etc., I put it on the doc. If I ever need to feel positive, I just look through it and it always makes me feel better.

    And ooh, the photos are a good idea! I like looking at photos of cute little me when I was younger.

    I’m actually going to go write in my gratitude journal right now so I don’t forget. Thanks for this post! 🙂

    Like

      1. You’re welcome! It was a great post, and after starting to write in my gratitude journal the past few days I’m feeling more thankful about life in general. It’s a good feeling. 🙂

        Like

  2. Abi, this is really lovely! I think a gratitude journal is the perfect means to keep writing, and keep positive while doing so. I can’t join in your BIG challenge, but I do intend to start journaling again, and this is a simple, meaningful way to do it. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m glad to hear that you are going to start journaling again–gratitude journals are very fun. Thank you very much for commenting…it’s too bad to hear that you aren’t joining me, but I hope you enjoy my posts over the course of the month!

      Abi

      Liked by 1 person

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

