Healthy Foods: What to Make

Hello! Long time, no see! It is Day 27 of the pledge. I got a request for tips on making healthy foods. I spent a while trying to figure out how to lay out this post. So, for this post, I am going to be sharing my top two foods/recipes for breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, and snacks. This is going to be a long post! If you missed the first pledge post, check it out here.Let’s start with some good old breakfast.

Breakfast

Breakfast has always been really easy for me. I’m not a breakfast person, so I typically have something small. 🙂IMG_9243

One of my favorite things for breakfast is a plate of some healthy fruits & sometimes veggies, like celery. It really helps give me energy and fills my stomach.

image

For my second option, I love ack-mack crackers with peanut butter on them.  Ack-mack crackers are just bland sesame crackers, but they have essential grains in them, and they’re really good for you. I also like these because they’re really basic, so you can basically put anything on them. (For a lunch option, you could melt some mozzarella on them and put a couple pieces of basil on….yum!) You can buy these at Target, Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s, Hannaford…pretty much anywhere.

Lunch

Lunch is really fun, because you can have the same kinds of foods as dinner.

image

One of the most basic, delicous things that I like for lunch is a quesidilla. I seriously have these for lunch almost every day. These are super easy, and you can add chicken, beans, sour cream, etc. Make sure you use a whole wheat tortilla, it’s healthier!

image.jpeg

Roasted veggies are becoming a favorite for me. I love sweet potatoes, russet potatoes, beets, carrots….I just peel and cut them and throw them in the oven for about 45 mins. To make your life easy, just cut a ton of veggies of your choice and cook them for the week. You can warm them up whenever you want them for lunch/dinner. Easy! 🙂

Dinner

Rice Bowls

I love Mexican food, and one of the easiest dinners is a rice bowl. Just cook up some rice (use brown rice, it’s better for you) and add some salsa, cheese, beans, lettuce, etc. Rice is a really good foundation because it’s used in all kinds of food–from Indian food to Chinese food. I have rice bowls probably twice a week.

image

Another classic for dinner is just some wheat pasta and sauce. Make sure you use a healthy wheat pasta that has essential grains. If I’m feeling lazy, I’ll just have leftover pasta for lunch, too! If you want an easy pasta, just cook the pasta of your choice and add some butter, salt and pepper, and basil.

Dessert

organic-chocolate-panama-extra-dark

If you have a sweet tooth, no worries! Me too! For dessert, you can actually have dark chocolate, if it’s over 80% cacaco. Dark chocolate is really good for you, and it’s delicious. Make sure you pick a fair trade and organic opition.

maxresdefault

I also love date fudge! I found this recipe on one of my favorite youtube channels, Holistic Habits. Check it out here.

3-ingredient-peanut-butter-cookies-1

And because you can’t go wrong with more desserts, I’ll mention my favorite three ingredient peanut butter cookies. These seriously take ten mintues to make and cook, and they are so so so good. 🙂 Check it out here. 

Snacks

image

I love a refreshing cucumber after a long day. I always peel it, and put a pinch of salt on the slices for a better flavor.

image

You have no idea how obsessed I am with dates. They are SO sweet and soft. If you put them out in the sun for a while, they get a slightly crystallized taste. Make sure you buy pitted dates to make your life easier!

And there you have it! I’m sorry I haven’t posted in a while, but it’s better late than never. Also, I went on a huge fabric haul a few days ago, so stay tuned for that! Thank you for reading!

sample-image

 

4 thoughts on “Healthy Foods: What to Make

  1. Yay! This is fantastical and so informative! I love all the pictures too, and I’ll have to try making some of those roasted vegetables–they look delicious! Thanks so much for writing this post! 🙂

    Like

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

