Fabric Haul

FABRIC HAUL-3.jpg

There is nothing better than a good old fabric haul! I want to start this posting by saying a big thank you to the Renegade Seamstress. She hosted a giveaway for a $100 gift card to Joann’s, and I won! Thank you!

elastic.JPG

The first thing that I got was some elastic, I always need to stock up on this for my projects. 🙂

scissors.JPG

I’ve dropped my scissors way too many times, and I’ve cut yarn, paper, and more with my scissors. I really needed a new pair! Joann’s was having a buy one get one free deal, so I got a pair of lefty scissors, and some thread snip scissors for small threads. Am I the only lefty here?

needles

It was time for some new needles, so I got a couple different sizes. The 100/16 needle in the regular point needle pack is heavy-duty–I have some upholstery fabric that I can probably use with it! My ball point needles were getting a bit dull, so I got some more ballpoint needles as well.

IMG_9536

This fabric is actually not from Joann’s! A church nearby was having a rummage sale, and I found this super fun print. The ladies there told me it was an African print, but the lady at the checkout said that it wasn’t. Oh well, it’s cute, and it looked like something that Marck would like. Maybe I’ll make him something out of it. 🙂

stripeeed.JPG

This fabric isn’t from Joann’s, either! The thrift store near my Hannaford has a big box of fabric that I always look through. I’m in love with this upholstery/outdoor fabric, and it’s stiff enough that it would make an awesome fabric box! And it already goes with my comfortor, which is a plus.

IMG_9534.JPG

More upholstery fabric. It’s begging to be made into a fabric box. 🙂 Or what about a throw pillow?

nicole miller

nicole miller fabric

Onto the Joann’s fabric! I was looking through the new Nicole Miller collection at Joann’s, and I saw this gorgeous black fabric with flowers. It was on sale for $8 a yard, and was too good not to pass up. It seriously has the perfect stretch–not too stretchy, but a nice, soft stretch with a good recovery. I’m a little low on tops, so this might become a tank or a blouse.

up close blue fabric.JPG

blue fabric.JPG

This fabric instantly caught my eye in the knit section. There isn’t a lot of it, it was at the end of the bolt, so I’ll probably turn it into a short skirt, or something like that. What about a One Hour Top? I went into Joann’s with some ideas of what I wanted, but I wasn’t sure what to actually sew with fabric.

cotton eyelt

Last, but not least, 2 and 1/2 yards of eyelet cotton fabric. I am in love with this. And I know exactly what I’m sewing with it! But that’s a secret for now. 🙂 I have to sew it fast, we’re going to Cape Cod in two weeks! Maybe I’ll take some pictures with it at the beach. I’ve given away too much, haven’t I?

everything that i bought.JPG

It was a fun haul, and I only spent around $70! I still have around $30 left on the card! Joann’s was having great deals the day that I went, so I’m glad that I didn’t have to use all of the money.

What should I do with the fabric? Thanks for reading!

sample-image

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Fabric Haul

  1. I love a fabric haul, the last time Hancock’s had a super sale I got a dozen great pieces. Too bad they are going bankrupt – I’ll have to try Joanne’s. I can’t wait to see what you make with the eyelet – my favorite!

    Like

  2. Wow! You’ve really made the most of your prize – and you still have some credit left too! I love the blue and white knit fabric and I think it would make a lovely short skirt and perfect to take away with you on holiday too.

    Like

  3. Good for you! You’ve won a super prize, and made good use of it (a giant haul with $$ left over!) Looking forward to seeing what you make up, especially that fun print for your little brother.

    Like

  4. Love getting to go on a shopping spree! You got some great items- Nicole Miller’s Collections are great! You chose an awesome print! Can’t wait so see the finished projects!

    Like

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

