#stitchingsanta2016–What I Received

I hope you all had a fantastic Christmas! I’m posting this late, but it was so much fun participating in #stitchingsanta2016. If you would like to see the gifts that I gave, check out this link! My package unfortunately came a bit late, so I wasn’t able to open it on Christmas, but I adore everything that I received.

Look at these goodies!

img_1902

The lady that had me, Mel, clearly knows me well. The theme of this was quilting–she saw on my blog that I want to learn how to quilt. She included all this gorgeous fabric for a quilt!

IMG_1900.JPG

She also got a quilt block for me to use. I don’t have one of these, so this is perfect! Thank you!

IMG_1895.JPG

There are a few magazines and quilting books–these look so interesting. I can’t wait to sit down and read them all! Mel marked a pattern in one of the magazines that she thought would be a great beginner pattern. I’m excited to try it out!

IMG_1897.JPG

Lastly, she sewed this beautiful zippered pouch. It’s so well made, I love it!

IMG_1896.JPG

Mel, thank you so very much for all of my presents. I truly love everything. I hope you all have a fantastic New Year, and look for a post from me soon!

signature

 

15 thoughts on “#stitchingsanta2016–What I Received

    1. Thank you! I adore everything you quilt, probably one of the reasons that I feel I should learn, haha. I know you mentioned that you have a walking foot–do you think that’s needed for quilting? I’m sure it probably makes it easier.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It helps keep the stitches even- I’ve quilted things with and without it, and it does make a difference. As a beginner, making the investment may be a jump. Almost all Brother machines when bought come with a walking foot- I threw mine away because I was a not very smart person, oh my goodness. But my sister got one with her machine. They can be almost $20 when purchased. If I were you, I’d research the pros and cons of it and figure out if its worth the investment. And wow, it means a lot! Thanks so much!
        (Sorry for the extra long comment, ha ha!)

        Like

      2. Oh, no problem! Thanks for replying! I have a Brother machine, but I normally use my Singer–I’ll have to see if the Brother comes with a walking foot. If not, I’ll do my research. I know that walking feet can be used for other things than quilting, so maybe it would be nice just to have one. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Lucky girl! I’m looking forward to seeing your first steps in quilting – Mel has got you off to a good start there. Once you have a cutting mat and rotary cutter you’ll be good to go – unless you already use these for dressmaking and general crafting purposes of course.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you like what I picked out. 🙂 A walking foot is helpful but is something I rarely use. Why? Because I don’t do much straight line quilting. One thing you might want to try if you’d prefer to do without it (and you don’t want to straight line quilt) is to do free motion quilting. If you can, lower your feed dogs, if not you can set the stitch length to 0, and use a darning foot on your machine. There’s lots of youtube who to videos out there on this. Good luck on your quilting adventure! Remember, regardless of what anyone says, all the quilting “rules” can be broken. You don’t need to use quilting cotton, you don’t need to be all matchy-matchy, and all that stuff (unless of course you want to). I consider myself an art quilter and enjoy breaking all the traditional quilting rules. 😉 Have a happy 2017!
    Mel
    Cloth and Paper Studio
    Resourceful Momma

    Liked by 1 person

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

