I’m Learning To Let Go

Hello, and welcome back!

As you know, I post a variety of different things on my blog, so today’s post is going to be a bit of a short personal post. Get comfy and grab a snack, and we’ll jump right in! IMG_0429.jpg

The picture I’m holding up is from 2015, when I was 11. 

The title of this post is “I’m Learning To Let Go”. What am I learning to let go of, you ask? Little things.

I’ve been known as a worrywart my whole life. I always need to know the little details. For example, if my family is going somewhere, I always need to know where we’re going, what we’re doing, and when we’re doing it. If I don’t have those details, and the future is unclear, I ask a lot of questions, and I won’t be able to have fun when we go there.

IMG_0372.jpg

And when things aren’t close to perfect, I worry. If the curtains aren’t arranged nicely, the chair isn’t pushed in all the way, and the comforter isn’t smoothed out, I can’t relax. All I can think of is the messy comforter, and it nags in my brain until I have to get up and smooth it out.

It’s hard, it’s so hard, but I’m learning to let go. I’m learning to move on. Life isn’t perfect, and it never will be, so I can’t keep focusing on the little things. I’m learning to focus on the big picture. You only live once, and if you spend your whole life focusing on small, tiny, unimportant things, are you really living?IMG_0374.jpg

As Ernest Hemingway says, “If something is wrong, fix it. But train yourself not to worry, worry fixes nothing.” If you’re a worrywart and you know how I feel, I hope you’ll learn to let go with me. When you find yourself worrying about something, ask yourself this: is this going to matter in a year?

A great way to relieve yourself of worrying and questions is to write down everything you’re afraid about, get it out of your brain, and let go of it. Throw it away. Let go of any negative thoughts that aren’t helping. Also, know when it’s proper to worry. I’ve learned that it’s okay to be nervous about something. But you should push the fear out of your brain and keep living.


Thank you for reading! This is something hard to share, but something I wanted to share with all of you. If you’re like me, and relate to this, leave me a comment and we’ll chat down below. I hope you all have a fantastic, worry-free day.

unknown-132

29 thoughts on “I’m Learning To Let Go

  1. Omg I can relate so much to this post and your problems with this!! I’m a HUGE worrywart and overthinker and totally get how you feel…but I love how you’re encouraging yourself to just let go of some of that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a good, relatable post! It’s so difficult to stop worrying when you feel like everything’s getting on top of you! I like your idea of writing everything down though, making lists and dealing with one thing at a time also makes things easier x

    Like

  3. I love that picture of you holding an older picture, very cool 🙂
    As a fellow worrier myself, I have also found good coping mechanisms to get past it. Writing it down is definitely a good one. I constantly talk to myself under my breath as well, saying that it’ll be fine. I get odd looks, but it definitely helps calm me down faster 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel this way about certain things too! Lately I’ve been pretty laid back but there are still random times where I have to make sure everything is ‘perfect’ otherwise I’ll completely lose it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a nice post! Also I totally agree, I feel like whenever we get stuck on the little things we have less time for the big ones… (Also how do you take such amazing photos??? Like????)

    Liked by 1 person

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

