How I Take And Edit My Blog Pictures

Hi, welcome back!

Over time, I’ve gotten better at blog photography, and since a lot of people have been asking me what camera I use and how I take my pictures, today I’m going to be spilling my secrets with you! Although this is a pretty common blog post, I personally think it’s interesting to see how other bloggers take their pictures.

IMG_1381.JPGIMG_1378 (1).jpg

Let’s start with my camera. I use a Canon EOS Rebel XS, which is a pretty old camera, but you know what? It works perfectly for me, and takes high quality pictures! I then take out the memory card, insert it into my laptop, and upload the pictures.

I always take my pictures with natural lighting, because it produces the best look.

IMG_0199.jpg

If I’m going for a certain look, I’ll use VSCO to put filters on my pictures. I discovered VSCO a few months ago (gosh, I’m behind on the times), but I love it. It makes editing photos extremely easy, and I’m almost always happy with the result. VSCO is usually used to edit Instagram photos, but it works just as well for blog pictures.

IMG_0231.jpg

If the photo just needs to be brightened and played with, I’ll use Befunky or Picmonkey. Honestly, though, I don’t edit most of my photos! The Canon takes such high quality pictures that I find the photos don’t need editing.

IMG_0235.jpg

Apologies for the blurry picture.

To make blog graphics, I love Canva and Befunky. I like how Canva will make sure all the elements in the graphic are lined up, and Canva also has a large selection of free images and elements to add to your graphic. However, I find myself using Befunky more because I can use my own fonts from Dafont.


I hope this post was helpful! If you have any questions about my blog, just ask! I really love doing blogging posts, so if there’s something you want to know about, shoot me a question.

Do you use any of these websites/apps?

unknown-132
|PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN’ | CONTACT ME |

31 thoughts on “How I Take And Edit My Blog Pictures

  1. Ooh, that is super awesome! I use PicMonkey for all my graphics, but I’ll be sure to take a look at BeFunky too! And haha, I WISH I had my own camera to take photos! It’s super fun to do that on my phone, but unfortunately, my phone camera sucks. 😄 But we lost our camera in Thailand over the summer, so the “family” camera is priority before my own camera. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I use VSCO as well but they don’t have a desktop or laptop version do they?? And I have to upload pics from the camera, then to phone, edit with VSCO, and then upload it back to my laptop.

    I find editing takes up so much time but without, it’s not as good! You have great photos anyways. ❤

    PS: In case you missed my latest post about the Jordwatch giveaway, here it is if you haven't entered already! giveaway 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you! I’ll be sure to check out the giveaway. No, they don’t have a computer version, which totally makes things a lot harder, but if you’re going for a certain look I guess it’s worth it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love be reading photographs posts, I also use a Canon camera but struggle with the settings! I take most of my blog pics with my iPhone as my camera shots always seen a bit grainy 😩😩 I will check out the apps you talked about too! They sound aw awesome 😍

    Liked by 1 person

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

