guest post: what two months of blogging has taught me

Hello & welcome back!

Today we have a guest post from a new(ish) blogger, Ellie, from Ellie’s Coffee Dates. Isn’t that such a fun blog name? Anyway, make sure to go to her blog & check out her content! Without further ado, let’s give Ellie the spotlight.


Hello everyone!
I have always admired Abigail’s blog, and when I asked her if I could write a guest post and she said yes, I was so excited! (So big thank you to her!) before we get into the post, here’s a couple things to know about me!
•I’m homeschooled! I have been my entire life and I love it!
•I loooove dancing! I’ve been taking classes since I was 5.
•I have the BIGGEST sweet tooth! I love pretty much every kind of candy.
unnamed.jpg
Ok, now that you know a little about me, let’s get on into the post!
I started blogging July 5th, 2017. When I first started, I had absolutely no idea what I was doing. My friend had started a YouTube channel a couple months before then and seeing her making content she loved and gaining subscribers, well, I wanted that too. I wanted to make content I loved and to interact with my readers. So, one day I decided to check WordPress.com and start a blog! I didn’t know how to do anything, I barely knew how to design my blog. Then I started to comment on other people’s blogs and I started gaining a couple readers. So, what has blogging taught me?
unnamed-1.jpg
• Bloggers are amazing
The blogging community is absolutely incredible! Everyone is so supportive and encouraging! From the very beginning, other bloggers have supported me and offered me amazing advice.
•Quality not Quantity
The posts I spent the most time and effort on, are the ones I’m most proud of. The longer I spend planning and writing the more likely I’m going to like it. (And my readers enjoy it too)
•Publish only if YOU love it
I’ve posted a couple blog posts where I really didn’t like it, the pictures had bad lighting and the writing was mediocre. Guess what? Those posts NEVER did nearly as well as when I took my time and created something I genuinely loved.
unnamed-3.jpg
• Experiment
Try out different writing styles, or new photography skills. Find out what’s gonna make your blog different! If you publish one bad post, it’s not the end of the world! It’s YOUR blog and ONLY YOU decide what gets put up! If you publish a post and it does terribly, at least you tried!
•Keep going
Never give up, just because you got a negative comment, or because a post got 0 likes, doesn’t mean your blog’s a failure! You are capable of amazing things!
unnamed-4.jpg
And that’s what blogging has taught me! I hope y’all enjoyed, and it would mean the world to me if you could check out my blog! Thank you all so much!
unnamed-5.jpg
Thank you for the guest post, Ellie! Make sure to check out her blog. Have a great day, and I’ll catch you in the next post!
23 thoughts on “guest post: what two months of blogging has taught me

I really love getting comments. Please share what you have to say!

